Dance Theatre Award Shortlist

The Dance Theatre Award supports dancers, dance-makers and choreographers, exploring movement and the body, and practitioners that push the boundaries of how dance is shared with audiences and a wider public. Meet the Shortlist:


Mele Broomes 

Mele Broomes’ work embodies stories from the collective voice, creating visceral and sensory collaborations.

Maiya Leeke

Maiya Leeke is a Contemporary dancer, choreographer, and Jazz Saxophonist who performs, teaches and creates her own work.

Krystal S. Lowe

Krystal S. Lowe is a Bermuda-born, Wales-based dancer, choreographer, writer, and director performing and creating dance theatre works for the stage, public space, and film.

Akeim Toussaint Buck

Akeim Toussaint Buck aims to challenge, enlighten and entertain the spectator or participant. His work reflects on our reality, looking at ongoing socio-political situations with a humanitarian intention.


With thanks to our independent Dance Theatre Jury: Cassa Pancho MBE, Toni Racklin, and Florence Peake who said:

“I loved seeing the ambition and fire for their practice. As artists, they all have approaches that are multifaceted and diverse in their enquiry and depth of research.”

The recipient of the £10,000 Arts Foundation Fellowship will be revealed at an Awards Ceremony on Thursday 23 February 2023, with all Shortlisted Artists receiving £1,000. Presented in partnership with Leeds 2023 Year of Culture!

The Dance Theatre Award is supported in partnership with The Maria Björnson Memorial Fund.⁠