The Arts Foundation Futures Awards 2023: Presenters

We are thrilled to share that the five Arts Foundation Futures Awards £10,000 fellowships will be announced by this year’s Jury members: Fink, Nemone Metaxas, Sarah Wigglesworth, Toni Racklin, Antonio Roberts, and Eric Ngalle Charles.

Fink (Electronic Music Award Presenter)

Fin Greenall aka Fink started as a DJ/Producer before making guitar-based folk/blues/indie music. Greenall signed to legendary label Kickin’ Records in 1994 and subsequently signed with Ninja Tune in 1997, releasing the critically acclaimed Fresh Produce in 2000 and DJ’ing worldwide. Fink has worked with many established artists including Amy Winehouse and John Legend and has toured the world.

Nemone Mexatas (Electronic Music Award Presenter)

Nemone has been at the forefront of UK national broadcasting for 25 years, with the last twenty two at the BBC. She is a familiar daytime voice on BBC 6 Music but her passion for music led to curating a specialist show, Nemone’s Electric Ladyland, for the last decade.

Sarah Wigglesworth (Bio Design Award Presenter) 

Sarah is director of her London-based architectural practice Sarah Wigglesworth Architects which she founded in 1994. Her work is acknowledged as a pioneering influence in British Architecture, and specialises in exploring the built environment’s role in addressing the ecological crisis. Winning many awards for its work, her practice has designed buildings for the educational, community, urban design, cultural and housing sectors.

Toni Racklin (Dance Theatre Award Presenter) 

Toni Racklin began her theatre career working at the celebrated Roundhouse Theatre, before working with Unicorn Theatre for Children, Lyric Hammersmith, Liverpool Playhouse and West End producers Andrew Treagus Associates, The Peter Hall Company and the Women’s Playhouse Trust. Toni joined the Barbican Centre in 1996. Several of her projects have subsequently been nominated and won coveted Olivier, Critics Circle, Evening Standard, Time Out and the late Peter Brook’s Empty Space Awards.

Antonio Roberts (Digital Art Award Presenter)

Antonio Roberts is an artist and curator based in Birmingham, UK, working primarily with video, code, and sound. He is critically engaged with the themes surrounding network culture and in his practice explores how technology continues to shape ideas of creation, ownership, and authorship. As a performing visual artist and musician he utilises live coding techniques to demystify technology and reveal its design decisions, limitations, and creative potential.

Eric Ngalle Charles (Place Writing Award Presenter)

Eric Ngalle Charles is a Cameroonian writer, poet and playwright, and human rights activist based in Wales. A Ph.D. researcher at King’s College London, his autobiography I, Eric Ngalle: One Man’s Journey Crossing Continents from Africa to Europe (2019) recounts his journey to Europe, spending several years in Russia and elsewhere seeking refuge. He was selected as one of Jackie Kay’s best British BAME writers with a unique theatrical voice. His poetry Collection Homelands Seren Books (2022) was published in April.

The Awards Ceremony is presented in partnership with Leeds 2023 : Year of Culture and will take place at the Howard Assembly Room, Opera North on:

Thursday 23 February ⁠

from 6.30 pm

Follow all the award announcements via Instagram Live!

The awards are generously supported in partnership with The David Collins Foundation, The Maria Björnson Memorial Trust, and the Yoma Sasburg Estate.⁠

Image Credit: Nemone Metaxas⁠