The Arts Foundation Futures Awards 2024: Theatre Writing Jury Announced

Each year we invite established professionals, subject experts and artists and creatives from across the UK to form part of the independent Jury that will select this year’s Shortlisted Artists and Fellow.

We are thrilled to share that the Arts Foundation Futures Awards 2024 for Theatre Writing Jury Members are:

Dzifa Benson

Dzifa Benson is an award-winning, multidisciplinary artist whose arts journalism covering theatre, fiction, non-fiction, music and poetry appears in the Telegraph, the Financial Times, the Times Literary Supplement and the Guardian. She was an editor-in-residence at Granta and is a poetry editor/reader at Curtis Brown Creative. Dzifa studied dramaturgy with acclaimed US dramaturg Mark Bly’s on his Dramaturgy Intensive Workshop at the the John F Kennedy Centre for the Performing Arts in Washington DC and has a Masters degree in Text & Performance from RADA and Birkbeck, University of London.

Alice Birch

Alice is a playwright and screenwriter. Theatre includes THE HOUSE OF BERNARDA ALBA (National Theatre); [BLANK] (Clean Break / Donmar Warehouse); ANATOMY OF A SUICIDE (Royal Court Theatre, winner of the Susan Smith Blackburn Award) and REVOLT. SHE SAID. REVOLT AGAIN. (RSC / Soho Rep, co-winner of the George Devine Award). Film includes THE END WE START FROM (BBC Films / Sunnymarch / Hera Pictures); THE WONDER (Netflix / Element / House); MOTHERING SUNDAY (Film 4 / Number 9 Films) and LADY MACBETH (BFI Films / BBC Film, winner of Best Screenplay BIFA and . TV includes DEAD RINGERS (Amazon / Annapurna); NORMAL PEOPLE (BBC / Element / Hulu); CONVERSATIONS WITH FRIENDS (BBC / Element / Hulu) and SUCCESSION (HBO). Alice was the winning Fellow of the Arts Foundation Awards 2014 for Playwriting.

Vicky Featherstone

Vicky Featherstone is the Artistic Director of the Royal Court. Her credits for the Royal Court include: Cuckoo, all of it (& Avignon Festival), Jews. In Their Own Words [co-director], The Glow, Maryland, Living Newspaper, Shoe Lady, On Bear Ridge (& National Theatre Wales) [co-director], Cyprus Avenue (& Abbey, Dublin/MAC, Belfast/Public, NYC), The Cane, Gundog, My Mum’s a Twat, Bad Roads, Victory Condition, X, How to Hold Your Breath, God Bless the Child, Maidan: Voices from the Uprising, The Mistress Contract, The Ritual Slaughter of Gorge Mastromas; Untitled Matriarch Play, The President Has Come to See You (Open Court Weekly Rep).

Vicky was also Artistic Director of Paines Plough 1997-2005 and the inaugural Artistic Director of the National Theatre of Scotland 2005-2012.


The Arts Foundation Futures Awards support the UK’s most promising artists and creatives at a breakthrough moment in their careers with £10,000 unconditional Fellowships.

The Theatre Writing category Shortlist will be announced in January 2024, and the winning Fellow receiving £10,000 unveiled at a live Award Ceremony in February 2024, with all shortlisted artists receiving £1,000.

Follow the Arts Foundation on Instagram, Twitter, Facebook and LinkedIn for all the latest awards news and updates.

If you’d like to discuss press and media opportunities, please contact us: