• 17-06-2012
  • Markus Kayser wins W Hotels Designers of the Futures Award

  • Markus Kayser was one of three recipients of the 2012 W Hotels Designers of the Future Award, unveiled during Design Miami/ Basel. The brief, ‘From Spark to Finish’, encouraged the designers to create work that sheds light on their own creative process and demonstrate how the spark of inspiration evolves into material designs.
    Kayser presented LIGHTzeit which explores how natural light constantly changes through motion, intensity and color rendering, whereas most artificial light sources are entirely static. LIGHTzeit is a minimal light installation resembling the ever-static tubular lights widely used in offices and public spaces. But this light picks up the notion of light in transition by constantly, but unnoticeably, travelling in a 24-hour cycle, 360-degrees around its axle like clockwork. While the position of the light changes, the light’s qualities adjust in color temperature and intensity throughout the day, reconnecting it to the natural rhythm. The user can set the place and time of day by an interactive switch in the form of an abstract world globe. Go to http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7LyMhtFilAc to see video of his work.

  • 11-06-2012
  • Jane Harris' 'Midas Magic' awarded painting prize at Royal Academy

  • Painting fellow Jane Harris has been awarded The Sunny Dupree Family Award for a Female Artist, 2012 for her painting, Midas Magic. The award is given to the female artist who is selected as making the best work in The Royal Academy Summer Exhibition.
    In making the award the judges stated: "Jane Harris has created a visual language that extends the tradition of abstract painting in a thoughtful and personal way. She deploys a delicate sensibility to create works that are intrinsically beautiful, but also possess a powerful presence. The judges were unanimous in awarding her the 2012 Dupree Prize."
    Previous winners of the prize include: Cathy De Monchaux, Elizabeth Magill, Mali Morris, Phyllida Barlow, and the late Sandra Blow. Midas Magic (2011) and Yonder (diptych) (2012) are currently on show at The Royal Academy Summer Show, London. Image courtesy the artist and Hales Gallery, London.

  • 29-05-2012
  • Virginia Hodge joins the Arts Foundation board

  • Textile specialist Virginia Hodge has just joined the board of Trustees. Virginia is Creative Director of HodgeSellers, a leading textile design consultancy whose international clients include Azzedine Alaia, Louis Vuitton, Marc Jacobs and Nina Ricci. Virginia is passionate about arts education and has a long association with London’s art universities, becoming a Visiting Professor for Fashion and Textiles at the University of the Arts London in 2008. For five years she was External Examiner for the MA Fashion/Textiles course at Central Saint Martin’s and prior to that she was External Examiner for the BA Textiles at Chelsea School of Art, she is currently a visiting lecturer at the Royal College of Art. The Foundation is delighted to welcome her onto the board.

  • 08-02-2012
  • ASIF KAPADIA wins BEST DOC at Evening Standard British Film Awards

  • His film SENNA which won the award is a documentary about the ruthless, charismatic Formula One racing driver who died in a crash in 1994 at the age of 34, put together entirely from archive footage, supplemented by voiceover interviews with those who knew him.

    Saying that, though, gives you no idea of the intensity and pace of this extraordinary piece of work by the director Asif Kapadia, who cut these 104 edge-of-the-seat minutes out of some 5,000 hours of footage with such skill that even those with no previous interest in motor racing will find it not only compelling but deeply moving.

    Arts Foundation fellows Carol Morley and Asif Kapadia make up two of the four nominees put forward in the documentary category this year.

    Go to
    http://www.thisislondon.co.uk/film/article-24033591-britains-big-talent-... for more info...

    or Asif Kapadia's directory page

  • 19-01-2012

  • Two New Media Art winners from the Arts Foundation fellowships Thomson & Craighead (New Media Art 2005) and Erika Tan (Digital Art 1998) were shortlisted for the Samsung Digital Art Prize.